Workout Your Core Using a Stability Ball

English: an exercise of abs

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It has come to my attention lately that my core strength is rather weak. I played tennis growing up and I didn’t really need six pack abs in order to excel at tennis. I just needed to be able to sprint and have enough arm strength to swing a tennis racket for at least two hours. Now, since I’ve been in college, I have found that I really like doing other things beyond just playing tennis. I enjoy swimming (which I am terrible at, more than 20 laps and I absolutely die) and  I am currently enrolled in three different martial arts: aikido, karate, and tae kwon do, I also actually enjoy working out at the gym a fair bit.

I realized I lacked a strong core  in my tae kwon do class. Tae kwon do is a highly active and physical kickingbased martial art that requires a very strong lower body and decent overall body strength in order to keep up with the amount of movement involved. In class we do a lot of aerobic exercises to build up our stamina and core workouts to increase our balance as well a bit of our kicking strength. What I learned is even though I’m fairly confident about my balance when standing straight, when you have to spin, jump, and throw a kick in short succession, my balance wasn’t actually that great.

To fix this I have begun working out my core a fair bit. I  do  sit ups/crunches, plank, leg lifts bicycles and all the other type of floor exercises. One fun thing that I have recently begun to use (that my girlfriend invested in for herself) was a stability ball. The stability ball allows you to work out more than just your abs

While still doing your standard core exercises. An example is a simple sit-up. While the sit-up works on your abs like normal, the stability ball causes you to engage your obliques and latissimus to stay balanced. Check out a variety of stability ball exercises here.

What kind of exercises do you do to build your six pack abs or to flatten your stomach?

Posted on October 25, 2012, in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

